St. Patrick Church was established in 1844, the first St. Patrick's church was a log structure which served the pioneers in the Meramec River area until a stone church was completed a few years after 1864. Building was interrupted during the civil war and the church was completed in 1866. This was due primarily through the efforts of Father Edward Berry who finished the project begun by Father Phillip Grace in 1857. The stone church suffered extensive damage from a fire in 1885 leaving only the stone walls. With the generosity and dedication of the parishioners, in less than a year both church and rectory were completed. Fr. Berry continued to serve the parish until his death in 1901. Father E. T. Gallagher was assigned to St. Patrick's in 1901 and worked in the area for five years. He died March 16, 1906 and was buried at St. Patrick's Church.
Father Arthur O'Reilly was assigned to Armagh in 1906 and it is with him that the official history of St. James Church begins.
After St. James in Catawissa was built in 1924, St. Patrick's closed it doors.
The church is used for wedding and special occasions today and have a fund raiser every year through the parish picnic in August with a mass at 11am and the festivities following.
St. James Catholic Church
1107 Summit - Catawissa, MO 63015
Rectory Phone (636) 271-6038, FAX (636) 257-2235, Hall (636) 257-8323
Mass Schedules - See Announcements
Baptisms by Appointment - Arrange for Marriage at least six months in advance.